Archive for May 2, 2013

Four-time World Champion Ronnie O'Sullivan says he has no intention to return to the sport

Four-time World Champion Ronnie O’Sullivan says he has no intention to return to the sport

Four-time World Champion Ronnie O’Sullivan last night claimed he will retire from snooker when his current contract with his sponsor runs out next year.

O’Sullivan, who beat Ali Carter 18-11 in last year’s final at the Crucible, says he “has no intention” of returning to the sport to defend what could be a fifth title, if he wins it this year.

The Rocket returned to the competitive game on the opening day of the Betfair World Championship when he defeated Scotland’s Marcus Campbell 10-4.

Following his 13-4 victory over world number eight Stuart Bingham in the quarter-finals he told a packed press conference: “I have no intentions to come back. I will see out my contract and then I will play in the odd event if I get bored.

“I have had two months preparing for this and I did not really know what was going to happen. I have made a little bit of money but I do not think snooker is for me.

“This could be my last major event. I might play in a few PTCs if I get really bored, as far as playing top competitive snooker and putting my heart into it goes I do not think that is what I want to do. I thought I had to give it a go.”

He added: “There were a few reasons like money and I thought I better get my cue out of my case and give it another go.”

O’Sullivan admitted that he had been attracted to appear at his 21st consecutive World Championship due to needing the money.

The current champion honestly said that he needed some money and that is one, of only a few reasons, why he came back to snooker.

“I have not paid the school fees for the last two or three months so in some ways I have just come back to see if I could reignite the fire and see if I was missing anything.

“I have been working because I need to support my family. I cannot keep going through putting myself unhappy. I wish I had an attitude of some of the players that just come here smile and laugh it off.”

He added: “I beat myself up too much.”

The 37-year-old claimed after his first match in the tournament that he was advised not to sign a perfectly good contract and that is why he took a year out from the game.

However, having reflected on his time off the Rocket felt that he had not missed the sport and finally after over two decades in the game he is ready to put the cue away for good.

“Having had that year out it bought me some time to realise that I did not need snooker. It has been tough for me, I have had a taste of not playing,” he said.

“I have put my life and soul into it and I needed a bit of cash and the only way I know how to do that is through snooker.

“I have signed a contract with someone that says I have got to play 10 events. I will play enough events to fulfil my contract but as far as I am concerned I am contempt to see that out.”

He added: “It is nice to be in the semi-finals and I had that year out and I never really missed the same to be honest. I missed having something to do and I was struggling for money. I will be honest with you I still owe the school some money.”

Rocket Ronnie will see out his current contract with vodka firm Oval

Rocket Ronnie will see out his current contract with vodka firm Oval

After reaching the semi-finals for the 10th time during his glistening career The Rocket congratulated Bingham on his first quarter-final.

O’Sullivan said: “I felt sorry for him because I know he loves the game but I just fed off of his mistakes there really.”

The Rocket did not completely rule out a return to snooker, but he said that all depends on what plans Barry Hearn has for the sport.

Despite not having a desire to compete in snooker on a professional basis he confirmed that he would still try his hardest to beat Judd Trump and reach the final for the second successive year.

“I will  be out there trying my nuts off. I am competitive and I hate losing. I will fight to the death and I will give it everything.

“I potentially have five days to go and if I cannot get through that then there is something seriously wrong,” he continued.

“In many ways I am happy and after that year out I realised that I did not need snooker. I was sat at home watching it and I was glad I was not doing that.”

O’Sullivan, who has 24 ranking titles to his name, admitted that during his year off he thought about regaining his love for the game. But, after playing three matches since his professional return he feels that love is still not there.

“I had moments where I fantasised about it. I am finding it hard and I think you cannot keep going on like that. I wish I could just handle it. I think it my own expectations. I just find it hard.

“I cannot go back to the farm and I have spoke to my mates who are in business. I need to earn a living really,” he said.

“Last year was one final push and for various reasons I have got my book coming out so you can read all the reasons.

“I could have still been playing snooker, but after having the year out there was no reason why I needed to go back to snooker.”

The Rocket added: “I did not miss the game and do not get me wrong it is a great buzz.”

It has been well documented that The Rocket has suffered from depression in the past and he confirms that the work he has done with his sports psychologist has really helped him.

“I just do not deal with the pressure, my high standards and I have worked hard with Dr. Steve Peters and he has helped me really hard. I still find it hard and I just do not want to put myself through it now,” O’Sullivan said.

The man who has been labelled as one of the most gifted players in snooker ever feels his semi-final opponent Trump is more than a match for himself.

The Ace in the Pack is bidding to reach his second World Championship final, after he first achieved that feat in 2011, and O’Sullivan believes the 23-year-old has a bright future ahead of him.

“He is a brilliant player,” the Essex based player said.

“I think he gets a bit of an unfair time. You read the papers and he is out there clubbing and every time I go down there he is there at half 10 in the morning playing for a few hours before coming back in the evening. He plays more than me.

“He likes his clothes and his cars and there is nothing wrong with that.

O’Sullivan currently holds a contract with Oval Vodka, which says that he must play in 10 events throughout the year.

The Rocket said that no agreement had been made between himself and his sponsor to determine which events he must appear in.

Saying that he is not forced to compete at the UK Championship or the Shanghai Masters and O’Sullivan did not confirm what events he would participate in next season.

He said: “They are any 10 events, I will play in some UK event and some PTC events. That is a contract with my sponsor events. There are not stipulations so I will see that out.”

Words: Adam Grice

Photo: The Guardian, The Telegraph